Orange Jack O’Lantern

I’d like to share with you my take on the Jack O’Lantern that I made for Halloween this year.

Typically, a Jack O’Lantern is made from pumpkins however when I saw them at our local supermarket, they were ~$3 a kilo and each one weighed around 10kg.  Although it would be pretty awesome, I decided it was too pricey.  Perhaps if I was having a Halloween party, I would do it, but otherwise, I needed a substitute!  After having a look online for ideas, I decided to make one out of an orange.  Together with my recent obsession with braces, I decided to make my jack o lantern with braces!

You’ll need

  • A large orange
  • Black marker
  • Scissors/knife
  • Light source eg. candle/glow stick
  • Decorations

20161029_193214

Make a cut in the top of the orange to expose and scoop out the flesh.  Try and scoop the flesh from the white part of the skin so you can take out the orange in its pieces.

orange-1

Using a black marker, draw out the face you’d like to cut out.  The smaller the orange, the simpler the shapes need to be.

orange-2

Using a small knife or scissors, cut out the shapes to make up the face of your jack o lantern.

orange-3

Decorations – for my jack o lantern, I’ve decided to give it braces.  I used the sticky part of a post-it to simulate the coloured elastics, and I’ve drawn black dot in the middle to make it look like the brackets.  I then used a piece of glavanized wire (same ones I used to bend names to make personalised bracelets!) and bent the ends so it can be pushed into the orange skin.

orange-4

orange-5

20161029_195520

For the light, you may like to shorten a birthday candle and using the candle holder (that you usually use to stick into a cake), push it in the base of the orange.  However, I find this to be potentially hazardous as the orange skin may catch alight. Instead, I suggest some glow sticks that you can activate and then leave inside the orange.  They come in a variety of colours and are a must safer option!

20161029_210055

20161029_195823

Hope everyone had a good Halloween and this gives you inspiration should you choose to make something like this in the future!

Leave a comment