Oliver Brown Sweet Treats

IMG_8490

I remember the very first time I had waffles.  It was probably 5 years ago and they were surprisingly good.  They were like a chewy biscuit, yet had that crunch from being freshly toasted and it was drizzled in chocolate sauce and serve with fresh fruit.  How could you NOT love that?

Fortunately for my waist line, I’m not a big dessert person and so I never really craved it much after.  However, Oliver Brown had recently opened up in the neighbourhood and so I dragged the boy along with me.

Their menu of sweets and drinks was very extensive but I knew I wanted the waffles.  I also craved a hot chocolate and chose one with waffle balls.

IMG_8488

I loved the crunchy waffle balls at Max Brenner – they were like mini malteasers: a small bit of crunchy waffle with a coating of chocolate which softens when placed in the hot drink, but does not melt and instead keeps its shape.  Amazing, isn’t it?

This however, was not the case at Oliver Brown.  Their waffle balls were nice and crunchy, but did not have that extra layer of chocolate around it.  It was a bit disappointing, but I suppose it’s because I came into it with a specific expectation.

The waffles could not be faulted though.  Delicious, and yet I’m glad we shared, or else I think it would have been chocolate overload.

 

Leave a comment